Debbie Leland

2005 Texas Golden Spur Award

About Me
How to order
School visits
For kids
For teachers
For writers
Contact Info
The Little Prairie Hen by College Station author Debbie Leland has won the 2005 Texas Golden Spur Award for Children's Literature, an annual award by the Texas State Reading Association. The award has been established to honor the authors of children's literature who reside in Texas. Other criteria includes a publication date of within five years and nominations based on literary merit. To learn more about this award, visit The runners-up were: Alley Cat's Meow by College Station author, Kathi Appelt; Bluebonnet at the Marshall Train Depot by Carrollton author, Mary Brooke Casad; Plaidypus Lost by Fort Worth author, Susan Stevens Crummel; Jazz Cats by San Antonio author, David R. Davis; and Eric and the Enchanted Leaf: The First Adventure by Houston author, Deborah Frontiera.